Opened in 1912, the Royal Ontario Museum, or ROM, originally displayed a neo-Romanesque Italian style. Its first expansion went for a neo-Byzantine look, with added Gothic Renaissance gargoyles.
But the most dramatic expansion remains that of the architect Daniel Libeskind, for the Renaissance ROM programme known as the Michael Lee-Chin Crystal, named for its prominent donor. This new deconstructionist addition of glass, steel, and brushed aluminium (2007), was inspired by the ROM's gems and minerals collections, which gives an avant-garde image to one of the largest museums in North America, whose assets include more than six million objects deposited throughout 40 galleries. The departments of natural history and world cultures are devoted to Anthropology, to the civilisations of the Near East and Asia, Art and Western Culture, Biodiversity, and to Earth Sciences and Paleobiology.
Children will likely prefer the James and Louise Temerty Galleries dedicated to the dinosaur age, or the scary cave inhabited by bats. Ideal for a family outing, the ROM is also renowned for its temporary exhibitions.
Royal Ontario Museum
100 Queens Park
ON M5S 2C6
+1 (0)416 586 8000